But your fixed expenses don't do this. They remain the same no matter what sales does. That's why it's call fixed. These are expenses like rent, taxes, utilities, phone, salaries, insurance, etc. A lot of business owners never consider this. They just lump all their expenses together. But you could never make an accurate plan if you combine all your expenses together. If you project your sales higher and want to know what your expenses will be, you have to separate your fixed and variable. So, thinking about this principle, let me ask you a question. If your sales grew 10% and nothing else changed, would your profit margin be higher, the same, or less? Profit margin is % of profit against sales
So here is how you would do it: Projected sales = fixed exp (足ꯠ) divided by 1_ƖǑ% + 27ǔ% + 12ǔ% + 25% (your new profit margin) = 造같 (new sales) You can do this for as many years out as you want. Obviously this is based on your first year's fixed expenses remaining constant and no consideration of depreciation, inflation, or taxes. But most likely you would need to increase your fixed expenses because you're going to probably have more rent, utilities, or such as your business grows. So, you would simple put in your new fixed expense number in place of the existing one for each of the years you would be planning for. So, you see if you decided you wanted a 35% profit margin at year 5 then you could see how much sales it would take to give you that. Now it's also important to know how many more customers you would need as well so you should always look at that unless you have another way of growing your sales other than with new customers.